Before / After Project: Director’s chair restoration

Beach Chair Watercolour

A year ago, while walking on the street, I entered into a beautiful patio: there was a magic shop selling among plants different  kinds of vintage furniture from all over the world. My heart stopped when I saw a beach/director chair, blue and white stripes, It reminded me of the pictures of Biarritz in the 20´s..so I took a pic with my phone, and later that night, in my house I made a watercolour of it. It is hanging right now on my wall.

Three days ago, walking in the streets of my neighborhood, I found a chair, a perfectly fine director chair (brand: Habitat) that probably nobody wanted because the fabric was broken. I couldn’t resist, so I took it home with me. I know, it sounds weird, but I do this with chairs!

Beach Chair Restoration

The day after I went shopping for striped fabric. I almost bought the white & green one…But then I decided to buy the blue and white fabric, which was in my mind from the beginning. The next day I studied the original  violet fabric stitchings and cut the respective pieces in the new striped  fabric.

Beach chair restoration
beachvintagechair-8
Beach chair restoration
beachvintagechair-6

The next day, with my brand new sewing machine, I sewed all the pieces.

And here it is!

Beach Vintage Chairbeachvintagechair-3beachvintagechair-4

Beach Vintage Chair

I’ve have to say, I’m more than happy to upcycle furniture nobody wants and in the same time, to make of it something that was like a dream for me.

What do you think? Do you like to upcycle?

Have a great day!

Serena

4 comments

  1. Paula

    great project Serene!
    I LOVE upcycling and it is vital for our planet.
    I can’t understand how people just dispose everything often replacing it by worst quality items…

Leave a Reply

